top of page

Lovely Luna Lovegood

Hello there! I hope you are having a lovely day. The weekend vibes hit me hard and while I was well on my way through Harry's second year at Hogwarts, when I had a sudden urge to watch Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, last night. Now, I am not one to hold back on my urges so, in the middle of the night, I started watching the Order of the Phoenix. Prior warning, this post was supposed to be up by Sunday night, however I had a little accident that involved my right hand and hence the delay.


There have been many times when I started writing something or the other about the Potterverse and then stopped. Being a part of one of the largest and probably one of the most active fandoms is that almost everything has been discussed multiple times. However, I finally decided to go for it and write what came to mind, irrespective of what has been said and written before. Adding my two cents to the wealth of Potterverse trivia, information and opinions available on the Internet.


Here, I will not exactly be talking about the movie or even the events that occurred. Because well, we all know what happened and how disappointed we were with basically everything that happened in them. As you might have already guessed, I will go ahead and extoll on one of my most favourite characters in the Potterverse, namely, the Lovely Ms Luna Lovegood. So without much ado, let me just get to it.



There have been so many opinions, fanfictions and thoughts about each and every one of the characters in the Potterverse. There have been shippers and there have even been so much hate surrounding so many of the characters. However, Luna Lovegood is probably one of the very few characters who has garnered only love and affection from Potterheads. I don't think I have ever come across a Potterhead who hates her or has negative opinions about her. This can be because we have seen ourselves in her, we have connected with her and her character has steadfastly radiated goodness at all times. Luna, I feel deserved way more attention than was given to her in the stories and more so in the movies. But let's not go down that road, for now.


Speaking of Luna how can we miss that dreamy, soft and delicate girl with the funky glasses. The strength of her character is not immediately evident from her physical appearance. What I love most about her is her absolute nonchalance of what people are saying about her. She is witty, smart, talented and an absolute Ravenclaw through and through. I somehow feel it is entirely our loss that she only came to us so late in the series. Her faith, her inherent goodness, even during the darkest of times and her conviction about the things she believes in, makes her someone I aspire to be. Despite all her quirks, there lies a steel-hard determination, steadfast faith in the goodness of people and a will that is freer than the air she breathed in. My love for Luna was such that I even went so far as to get violet spectacles that were a toned-down version of her Spectrespecs and wearing them till I couldn't anymore (they had to be replaced). I still miss wearing them.


Luna has always been someone who is there but not really, but her presence can be felt from miles away. There are so many instances to prove that. The way she comforted Harry when even his closest friends at Hogwarts failed to do so. The time she went to Slughorn's Christmas Party with Harry, the way she protected Ron when he was Confunded. Oh, and the time she turned up in support of the Griffindor Quidditch team, in a roaring lion hat. And how can I forget her commentary during the Quidditch match. Or the time when she helped Ginny and Ron run Dumbledore's Army in the absence of Harry. I believe she was the absolute star of the show when she stunned Alecto Carrow (I always read that scene twice sometimes thrice). Like a friend of mine loves to say, she was a pivotal character without whom the Deathly Hallows couldn't have turned up the way it did (I hear you, mate!).


However, moving on, this piece would be incomplete if we don't talk a bit about the absolutely gorgeous Evanna Lynch and her wonderful portrayal of Miss Lovegood. I don't think there could have been a better person to portray Luna Lovegood on the screen. Her dreamy looks, her voice, the way she carried herself, was everything I as a Potterhead had always imagined Luna to be.


Luna Lovegood is such a delicate, lovable yet determined and strong character. I will forever be grateful to Miss Rowling for introducing us to the goodness of Luna, at a time when things were starting to falling apart in the Potterverse. In my opinion, Luna is exactly like a rose. Just as unique, just as beautiful, but without the thorns. There could have been no way that she hadn't realized that people were bullying her and hiding her things on purpose. She chose to let it go. At a time when most would crib and complain, she chose to not let it affect her. She chose to be a bigger person. I could go on and on about Luna and how pivotal she is to the plot but I am well over my three minute read so I promise to stop here and keep the rest for some other time, maybe.



That was my bit for the day. Thank you, dear reader, if you have made it this far! Do you think the way I do about Luna? Hit me up with a text and let us just obsess over all things Luna Lovegood! I hope you enjoyed this post of mine. I will be posting a few more pieces discussing characters, conspiracy theories and more from the Potterverse, once my fingers start feeling like fingers again. Please watch this space for more stories. Drop a heart or a comment if you liked this piece.

Do subscribe for more! Your encouragement, comments and hearts keep me going, so show your love, without inhibitions.




See you next time. Till then do stay safe and take care.


Love,

Dia

bottom of page