top of page

I Am A Cat Mom... For Now

Hey there! It has been super long since I wrote to you. And I apologize for that. I will not try to excuse myself here or tell you why I haven't been around much, or well, at all. Because that is just not done, I'd rather give you my heartfelt apologies than half-baked excuses. So yes, in a way, I decided to wake up (quite literally), and dig out my log-in credentials for this much-beloved blog of mine.


I cannot believe it has already been so long since I last wrote something. And a lot has happened since then. Some things were good, some not so much. But well, life goes on, and as they say, miracles keep happening. One such little miracle came to our doorstep last night. And I cannot believe but she is part of the reason why I am sitting here, writing, once again, after so long!


You might have guessed from the title itself, but let me say this once again because I still cannot believe it, "WE NOW HAVE A CAT!!!!!"



Forty-eight hours back, had someone told me that I would spend an entire evening cuddling a kitten in my arms and singing her lullabies, I'd have laughed it off and said, "Cats and I don't look eye to eye." And believe me, that had been the case, until last evening.


Like I had said earlier, last evening, this little darling, walked in, digging for scraps outside our house, hurt and tired but totally fierce and independent. My heart melted at the sight of her and I just had to pick her up. When she looked at me with those beautiful, huge eyes, full of trust, snuggling into me, as if I was the softest cushion in the world, I don't know about her but it was love at first sight for me.


I have been told, on more occasions than one, that you don't adopt a cat, it is the cat who adopts you. And maybe that is what happened with me as well, I think. I wanted to call her "Minerva" (if you know me you'll know why) but well she wouldn't respond to anything else but "Minnie" and I am fine with that as well, I will call her Minerva in my head.


Our Minnie (I so love the sound of it) is a wild one, I don't know how long she will stay with us or if I am going to wake up one day and find her gone, so I decided to chronicle my days with her. For when she decides to go on the great adventures that life has in store for her, I can always come back here and cherish the time we had together because why memories fade, words don't. Although I am pretty sure that I will never forget the time I had with her, it would be nice to have some sort of evidence, that I too had once loved a cat!


It has been a little over twenty-four hours since Minnie walked into our lives and now, as she sleeps in her little shoebox, my arms already feel so empty. Her nails that poked through the sleeves of my dress all day long, feel like a ghost caress now as my muscles cherish the memory of holding her. She hates being held but when I look away, she'll find ways to climb onto my lap and make me pay attention to whatever it is she is doing. Holding her almost feels like the most natural thing to do as if the two of us were meant to be.




They say that cats don't love you back as dogs do. It was not long ago when I too felt the same. But in the time that Minnie came into our lives, albeit short, I realized that they do love you, they just have a completely different way of showing it to you.


I don't know how long Minnie will choose to stay with me but for as long as she will have me, I'd be honoured to hold her, cuddle her and pander to all her whims and wishes.



It is wonderful to think of how the presence of a pet can change your life. And while Minnie and I are still not sure about this arrangement of ours (I wouldn't dare be too optimistic and call her my pet), I am going to enjoy my time as a "Cat Mum" for a change. I plan on chronicling my time with her here and I am going to try to get Her Majesty to pose for some more pictures as well. Do let me know what you think of this idea. And this time I promise I will be more regular.




Do check out my other posts. And please like, share and subscribe for more, if you like this one!


I will see you again next time. Till then stay safe and take care! ❤

bottom of page