top of page

#2 We Take Minnie To The Vet

Hey there! I bet you didn't expect to hear from me so soon. Well, honestly, neither did I. But then again, even I did not expect to fall so completely in love with a kitten either, but here we are. Last time, I told you about my wish to chronicle the time we are spending with Minnie and here we are.



After Minnie came to us, the first thing we did was take her to a vet. Now, tiny little thing that she is, we were trying to figure out the best way to take her there. To be honest, I have had plenty of experience handling puppies of all shapes and sizes. But "cats", well, they are an entirely different ball game. And as someone must have said, "When in doubt with your pet, just go to a vet!"


We had plenty of doubts, "What to feed her?", "How to groom her?", "Is she the correct size for her age?", "How bad are her injuries?" and so forth. So off we went with Minnie for a visit to the vet.


Tiny as she is, we had to think of a way in which we could take her to the vet and back, safely, on a motorcycle. Pipi suggested that we wrap her in a tea towel or something similar. Mumma found us an old towel to wrap her in (although Minnie has some very strong opinions about it being better as a mattress). And off we went with a Minnie burrito, to the vet.


Going to the vet is not unfamiliar to me and I had been to this particular one a few times but this was the first time for Minnie and I was very nervous about the answers the vet might have for us. On our way there, while curious, Minnie preferred to stay within the comfort of my arms. Once there, the little darling fell into such a deep sleep that we had to shake her to get her to open her eyes.


However, the biggest relief was when we learnt that there was nothing wrong with Minnie and the problems that were there, malnutrition, ticks, worms, and the like, could be dealt with. We got the medicines and once again wrapped her up like a burrito and were ready to head back.


Now that she had had her nap, Minnie was super curious about her trip back home. And we agreed on taking the long way back home. All through the ride back home, all she wanted was to jump into the hubbub of all that was happening around her. With her front paws planted firmly on my left shoulder, our burrito was trying to take it all in. That wide-eyed wonder, the curiosity and her enthusiasm made that ride back, one of my most memorable bike rides.


And once the bike came to a stop, Minnie made it clear that she wasn't done exploring and made her displeasure known to us with her tiny mewls. And with her tail in the air, she walked right up the stairs back home, for dinner. And that is yet another uphill task that we are trying to master, every day. But that is a story for another day.


As for now, Minnie is doing well, eating more, learning something new every day, poking around everywhere, climbing every possible piece of furniture, cushion and person within her reach and finding her voice.



Now, I know this one wasn't all that much but I think this was a very important memory for us and hence the write-up. Do keep following this space for more of our adventures with Minnie!



As for me, I will be taking your leave for now. And I will be coming back with more of our adventures. This Tuesday marks our first week with Minnie and I am planning on sharing with you all a whole bunch of adorable photos of her climbing anything and anyone within reach.


I don't know how long Minnie will choose to stay with me but for as long as she will have me, I'd be honoured to hold her, cuddle her and pander to all her whims and wishes.






It is wonderful to think of how the presence of a pet can change your life. And while Minnie and I are still not sure about this arrangement of ours (I wouldn't dare be too optimistic and call her my pet), I am going to enjoy my time as a "Cat Mum" for a change. I plan on chronicling my time with her here and I am going to try to get Her Majesty to pose for some more pictures as well. Do let me know what you think of this idea. And this time I promise I will be more regular.






Do check out my other posts. Please do like, share and subscribe for more, if you like this one!



I will see you again next time. Till then stay safe and take care! ❤

bottom of page